I Love Moving

After all, it is all in your perspective right?  Isn’t everything?  (Figured out last night, we have moved, 6 times in 13 years.)   I just keep repeating the above phrase in my head over and over again, like the Little Engine That Could, I love move-ing, I love move-ing, I love move-ing, and slowly but surely I get there.  Not every part mind you.  But the following is a brief list of things I love about moving:

-you have to be totally creative in the last few days with what you eat, what you can live with/without, and how you pack things.

-as discussed in an earlier post, it helps you get rid of things you don’t need or use.

-it’s a fresh start in every way.

-new people to meet, new home to decorate, new plants to grow.

Speaking of perspective, people have been asking how the kids feel about our move, if they are excited, etc. and it got me thinking (dangerous I know).  Kids are such a product of what we say and how we feel.  That seems like an overwhelming responsibility sometimes, but the things you say to kids/within earshot of kids really are important–your words matter.  Are you positive or negative, encouraging or critical, happy or sad, energetic or lazy, relaxed or uptight, focused on others or yourself, complimentary or insulting, compassionate or unaware?  Whatever your answers are to these questions, your kids are picking up on it like little sponges.  Don’t let that scare or intimidate you–use it– find time every day to be positive, encouraging, happy, energetic, relaxed, complimentary, compassionate, others-focused.

This move is the perfect example–first of all, the kids are totally pumped.  We’ve never once given them any reason to be anything but… it’s all in the presentation baby.  It is true, that at the beginning of child rearing I hoped or should I say, had my mind set, that our kids would have this highly consistent upbringing.  One school, one house, one church– where they could take root and really feel secure.  Clearly, life has taken a different turn and we are just trying to embrace it.  Because of our moves, I hope the kids have learned to be flexible, adaptable, new friend makin, road trippers who have also visited so many cool places, seen things they might not have seen, and been exposed to some different cultures. And now we are moving on to be an orange tree growin, beach lovin, east coast travelin, all the while God servin family.  Life is good.  Embrace all of it’s goodness.  God’s goodness.

Yesterday I asked my kids what they think I talk to them most about each day or what I am always trying to teach them– I told them their answer could exclude things about God since I already knew they would think I’d string em up by their toenails if they didn’t say that. They said “being creative”.  Ok “making healthy choices”, but then being creative.   Oooo — I just get that all over giddy/jittery feeling when I say the word.  Creativity is important and  sometimes really hard to foster in kids with all the bells and whistles out there for them.  But it is worth your time and effort.  Creativity is a whole other subject we must save for another post….

But with move day quickly approaching, most of our belongings are tucked into boxes just waiting to be unwrapped and used again.  So, the kids have been forced to find other ways to entertain themselves and be creative.  It has been incredibly entertaining for me to capture some of their ideas on camera.  Check these out:

This is an animal shelter (created on empty bookshelves) with a nice selection of dogs for sale.  These dogs are well taken care of and loved by the staff.

In the next room we have even more dogs available for adoption.

Including a “newborn nursery”.

There are also hamsters or possibly mice if you prefer.

Hermit crab– who gets a cage of water with grass all to himself.

A liter of pugs maybe– I’m told they refuse to be seperated.

Who wouldn’t want to take this little cutie home?

In case you couldn’t tell that’s on the female side of things.  In the male corner we have this– there isn’t enough video feed in the world to record the amount of hours of basketball they’ve been playing in the loft so I got shots of other things that are mixed in from time to time:

A classic, jumping on the trampoline with the hose.

Pop beads — which always turns into a game of toss.

So sad  I didn’t get an action photo, but the components are here.  See the bench in the picture, how the arm is curved?  Well, it supposedly makes an excellent race track.  They have sent every form of car down “the track” no less than 200 times.  Then they started to try and make it into the colander each time.  I really dug the sounds of this game all day…. I love moving.

1 Comment

Filed under Musings

One response to “I Love Moving

  1. karen

    gotta love those creative minds working together…

Leave a Reply

